The Wellington Region Emergency Management Office (WREMO) was formed in 2012. It is a semi-autonomous organisation that co-ordinates Civil Defence and Emergency Management services on behalf of the nine councils in the Wellington region.

WREMO’s operational structure 

Fortunately, most of the time we are not responding to an emergency.  So our structure is focused on the tasks we do most often – readiness and reduction.

WREMO has three core groups: Community Resilience, Operational Readiness, and Business and Development. 

Emergency response structure

During an emergency, the Wellington Region can activate up to six Emergency Operations Centres. These are located in Wellington, Hutt City, Upper Hutt, Wairarapa, Porirua and Kapiti. The centres’ response effort is coordinated by an Emergency Coordinating Centre. 

The Emergency Operation Centres and Emergency Coordinating Centre are run by the relevant council, with support from the wider CDEM Group. WREMO staff support the activated centres. 

Find out about the WREMO facilities


Find out about any WREMO vacancies