View as text Tsunami Zones

What you need to know

At midnight, Monday 8th June, New Zealand moved to Alert Level 1. Borders remain closed with mandatory isolation and quarantine remaining our first line of defence. 

  • Public and private events can go ahead without limitation⁣s.
  • Retail and hospitality have no limitations⁣.
  • Public transport and travel across the country is fully open.⁣
  • Managed isolation and quarantine at the border continues.⁣
  • Businesses or services where the public enter are being asked to allow customers to maintain their own diaries of where they have been. QR code posters will still be encouraged and available for customers to use. Manual sign in is no longer required.⁣
  • People should return to work if they are well.⁣
  • People asked to maintain diaries in the event of a second wave.
More information: 
Advice on health impacts:
Updates on the status of local roads and public transport:


Get Prepared

The Wellington region is an awesome place to live, but it’s a little wild. We often experience earthquakes, storms, flooding and landslides. We’re also at risk from tsunamis.

These emergencies have similar impacts.  It would be hard to get around, hard to communicate with loved ones and hard to get access to the essentials.

We’ve outlined the things you can do to prepare your household and community get through the challenging days safely, and as comfortably as possible.

Find out how at Get Prepared >

Tsunami Evacuation Zone Maps

If you feel a long or strong earthquake then immediately get out of all zones. In other cases evacuate the zones you are advised to leave.

Find the tsunami evacuation zone maps > 

Or click below to see the evacuation zones for your area:

Kāpiti Coast  |  Porirua City  |  Wellington City  |  Lower Hutt
South Wairarapa  |  Carterton  |  Masterton