Wellington region: Aerial photo of the Wellington Region

Te Upoko o te Ika The Greater Wellington Region

The Wellington region is an awesome place to live, but it’s a little wild. We often experience earthquakes, storms, flooding and landslides. We’re also at risk from tsunami.

There are no alerts for Wellington region

Cyclone Gabrielle Recovery Support

WAIRARAPA | Support is available to those that have been affected by Cyclone Gabrielle

You can find all the information, resources and support available on the Hīkina Wairarapa| Wairarapa Recovery Website

The Greater Wellington region/ Te Upoko o te Ika is home to around 506,814 people. The Greater Wellington Regional Council is responsible for environmental management, flood protection and land management, provision of regional parks, public transport planning and funding, and metropolitan water supply. 

The region consists of nine territorial authorities including Wellington City Council, Hutt City Council, Upper Hutt City Council, Porirua City Council, Kāpiti Coast District Council, South Wairarapa District Council, Carterton District Council and Masterton District Council. The Wellington Region produces 15% of the New Zealand’s GDP and is the home of central government. 

There are a number of iwi/hapu within the Greater Wellington Region including, Muaūpoko, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa - Tāmaki Nui ā Rua, Ngāti Raukawa ki te Tonga, Ngāti Toa Rangatira, Rangitāne, Taranaki Whānui ki te Upoko o te Ika, Te Atiawa, and Te Atiawa ki Whakarongotai. 

Greater Wellington Facebook Feed

Contact Greater Wellington Regional Council:  

Phone: 0800 496 734  

Email: info@gw.govt.nz

Website: https://www.gw.govt.nz/

Wellington Region Tsunami Evacuation Maps

Community Emergency Hubs